Title Track Vocals!

BWYA Paula studio pic

Greetings from Be Who You Are central! Or as Richard is now calling it, Be Who You Am Be. He thinks that’s going to catch on.

Speaking of Richard, he is toiling away on the title track as we speak, writing awesome Flamin’ Groovies style guitar hooks! It’s sounding so good! As you can see from today’s picture, I’m doing vocals, but it ain’t easy. Not because singing is hard, but because singing while choking up is hard. I know, I wrote the lyrics and have lived with them for quite a while now, so I should be OVER IT already, but there’s something about fostering a kid’s self-esteem that just keeps a lump firmly lodged in your throat. Gah! I have to get rid of that lump – like now – because I’m about to walk back in there and redo my trembling first take.

My saving grace is that I’m not alone. I finished a take and looked over to see Richard looking misty eyed. This stuff makes men cry too! Either that or he just realized how much work he’s doing on this for free.

Violet has been listening to the process as well and much to my surprise, sang the first verse to me in the bathroom today while we were getting ready for the day:

It goes:

SOMEBODY MIGHT TRY TO TELL YOU

THAT IT’S NOT OKAY TO WEAR BLUE

AND THAT HURTS YOUR FEELINGS TO HEAR THAT,

‘CAUSE THEY’RE YOUR FAVORITE SHOES

WHEN YOU FEEL BAD IT GETS HARDER

TO KNOW JUST WHAT YOU SHOULD DO

BUT REMEMBER WHAT YOU LIKE MATTERS

YOU LACE ‘EM UP TIGHTER AND

BE-E-E-E WHO YOU ARE!

It didn’t make her cry. Maybe she should sing it.

I promise we’ll have music on here when there’s something ‘finished’ to share. Meanwhile, that’s the update for today!

One comment

Leave a Reply

